Author Topic: Anti weed matting  (Read 8211 times)

Bernardh

Anti weed matting
« on: April 28, 2006, 14:27:40 »
Because of the drought here in the South East (hosepipe ban since August'05) I'm thinking of using the matting for weed control, the porous stuff and making holes for my plants to grow through. Has anyone else used this extensively and were there any problems?
Bernie

sweet-pea

• Hectare
  • Wisley
Re: Anti weed matting
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2006, 14:32:31 »
I haven't, but I was going to try it with my squashes this year.  I've grown potatoes under black plastic before and they did ok.

vaca

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2006, 15:08:40 »
I'm using it on 1/2 of my plot. right now I just have strawberries, but plan on growing my tomatoes, sweetcorn, courgettes, pumpkins and possible beans all through the weed fabric. But it's my first time so can't say how well it's going to work - at least you're not alone  :D

tilts

• Acre
  • Boom Boom boom Boom Esso blue!
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2006, 15:10:29 »
I did Courgettes under weed matting last year and it was great, kept the weeds at bay and had a brilliant crop.  I did build up the areas where i was going to plant with plenty of compost beforehand.
Tread softly or you'll tread on my dreams.....Yeats

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2006, 15:13:14 »
If you mean Permealay, it grows the best crop of weeds you'll ever see.

Much taller than the dwarf beans I was growing. I showed pictures of it.

In the small print - of course - they do tell you to cover it with 1" of gravel or bark etc!!

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2006, 16:12:47 »
I have tried both weed suppressing matting and black plastic.