Author Topic: Courgettes & Pumpkins  (Read 2972 times)

vaca

• Half Acre
Courgettes & Pumpkins
« on: April 03, 2006, 13:03:17 »
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone has started sowing courgettes and pumpkins yet. As this is my first year, I'm afraid of sowing too many courgettes, and I somehow managed to get about 7 varieties when buying seeds  ::) how many courgette plants are you growing this year, and how many people are you feeding in your family?

How about pumpkins and squash? I take it these don't produce as many fruits as curgettes?

Thanks,
Vaca

gunnerbee

• Hectare
Re: Courgettes & Pumpkins
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2006, 13:13:26 »
Well i have to feed six so i usually grow 3 or four green ones, but we love courgettes and im going for a huge crop this year of differing varietys, hey you can always trade with your neighbours or give the excess away!!

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2006, 13:14:19 »
I was just about to ask the same question about sowing these. I really am getting more and more behind as we speak!

I'm planning on growing four courgette plants and four squashes (that's all I have room for unfortunately). I have a lot more than four varieties of each, though (if I get extra plants, I'll give them away). THat's to feed two of us (we like them a lot!)
gone to pot :D

Tora

• Hectare
  • Gravesend, Kent
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006, 13:19:37 »
I once planted 3 courgette plants and ended up with too many courgettes (only two of us in the household).
My OH started to complain after a while about too much courgette in his meals.
I just could not keep up eating them. In the end I made several bottles of courgette pickles, which was perfect with cheddar cheese.

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2006, 13:37:58 »
I look to have a couple of plants on the go for the pair of us. The greenhouse one is well on the way and I sowed my main batch of courgettes and pumpkins yesterday.

gunnerbee