Author Topic: Soft Soap???  (Read 7154 times)

katynewbie

• Hectare
  • Manchester
Soft Soap???
« on: March 19, 2006, 22:13:24 »
???

Just been watching my new dvd of "The Victorian Kitchen Garden" loved it when it was on TV and still love it now! Harry uses gloopy stuff called "soft soap" as an anti-bug measure. What is it? Is it organic? Where can you get it? Anyone tried it?

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: Soft Soap???
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2006, 08:48:37 »
"Insecticidal soap"? Seems to help.

Organic Catalogue.

Petra

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2006, 12:14:41 »
When I was a nurse in the early eighties we used a green gloopy soft soap for enema's, not sure if that's the same stuff though!!
My grandmother used to save all the soapy water from her old twin tub washer to spray over the roses as she reckoned it prtected them from all sorts of pests

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2006, 18:23:01 »
Any soap will kill insects as it attacks the wax coating on the cuticle. Be careful of what you're adding with the soap though.

jennym

• Hectare
  • Essex/Suffolk border
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2006, 20:15:22 »
Phostrogen Safer's Garden Insecticide Concentrate andB & Q Bug Free Concentrate
are similar products, containing fatty acids. These are approved for use by amateur growers i.e. those without a pesticide licence. I believe that Savona is restricted to professional use, i.e. licence holders only.

katynewbie

• Hectare
  • Manchester
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2006, 13:19:13 »
;D

Thanks folks, will investigate!!

;)

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2006, 13:52:58 »
Snap katie, I got the VCG CD and had forgotten it was so good.