Author Topic: Hosepipe Ban  (Read 7282 times)

Stork

• Quarter Acre
Hosepipe Ban
« on: March 13, 2006, 23:10:34 »
Hi all,

Thames Water is banning the use of hosepipes from April 3rd.

I'm new to this allotment business and I'm worried that come July all my lovingly tended crops will wither and die. Is it possible to keep a plot fully watered using a watering can and butts?

Although I will be as careful and frugal as possible, it seems likely I'll use just as much water but a lot more time which is also in short supply!

Any suggestions?

Stork.
Have no fear of perfection. You will never reach it. (Salvador Dali)

busy_lizzie

• Hectare
  • Izzy wizzy lets get busy! Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear
Re: Hosepipe Ban
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2006, 23:19:09 »
Lots of water butts, hopefully there will be some water, and how about mulching to keep what moisture you have got in.  We are lucky, as in the North East we have lots of spare water capacity in our reservoirs, but I sympathise with those in the Thame Valley as it could be difficult and with global warming it looks to be a continuing problem as well. busy_lizzie
live your days not count your years

gtm41658

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2006, 07:10:17 »
All well and good to impose a hosepipe ban....how are they going to enforce it....roving patrols....our neighbour will use her hospeipe come what may...she won't be bothered...unless of course someone tells.........!!!!!!!

Anyway, TW ought to be looking closer to home first for there water shortages...they waste a third of the water through leakage...some of it blatantly obvious when its running down the road from the water board stop tap!

Hope it rains soon....water butts need filling!!!

Gerry

gardening giraffe

• Quarter Acre
  • Don't you just love eating veggies!
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2006, 07:16:10 »