Author Topic: Sowing leeks!  (Read 4323 times)

buddy12

• Not So New ...
Sowing leeks!
« on: February 25, 2006, 13:52:17 »
Hi this is probably a really stupid question but i am a complete beginner so you will have to forgive me!! I want to grow some leeks but i dont know what to sow them in e.g do i put them in a tray then move them to a deeper pot when they get bigger or do do they go straight to a pot (how deep?) or am i stupid and they should go straight into the ground ??? HELP God help my new allotment! this could be a fun year of learing!!

Thanks

Debs

• Hectare
  • If at first you don't succeed, try and try again!!
Re: Sowing leeks!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2006, 14:21:46 »
Hi buddy12,

I sow mine in a seed tray, transplant to 3" pots then into ground when

they look as thick as a pencil.

To plant, dig a hole and place leek in, water it in by filling hole with

water as the roots are delicate. Fill in with soil and earth up a little

to help 'whiten' the stem.

Others will have different methods.

Debs

MikeB

• Hectare
  • Harleston, Norfolk
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2006, 15:25:32 »
Hi Buddy12,

I've tried the folowing two methods, neither appears better or worse than the other.

Sowed seeds thinly in a couple of seed trays in march in the greenhouse (coldframe/polytunnel etc.).
When they were as thick as a pencil (approximately in June) transplanted outside to their final postion as described by debs.

Sowed seed outside in march in a bit of spare ground approx' 2' x 2' transplanted them in June to their final position.  I tend to plant them where my first/second earlies (potatoes) have just been dug up.

digswell

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2006, 15:35:26 »