Author Topic: Growing Lupins from seed  (Read 19751 times)

jobba

Growing Lupins from seed
« on: February 03, 2006, 20:14:12 »
Hi

Can anyone give me some advice on growing Lupins from seed. I was wondering when would be the best time to start them off. I have a propogator, but I only have a very small cold frame and was worried how I can keep them protected from frost.

I am a complete beginner and any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers!  :)

Palustris

• Hectare
Re: Growing Lupins from seed
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2006, 20:17:02 »
Depends on whether you want them to flower this season or do not mind waiting. The earlier you sow the better chance they have of flowering in their first year.
Gardening is the great leveller.

Jitterbug

• Hectare
  • Dance as if no one is watching...
    • Leighton Lottie
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2006, 22:01:12 »
Oh goody, something else I can sow now!! I was wondering why the gardeners almanac said to prick out lupins in mid to end February - I could not find when I was suppose to plant them :-[

I am hoping that nature will be kind to me and forgive me for already having sown some tomatoes, aubergines and chili's.  They are currently on the windowsill on a south facing side and once they are big enough I will put them in the cold greenhouse.  Only hope that they survive.  Mmmhh otherwise I could think of moving dh out of the bedroom and having more space to put some more of my babies  ;D

Do you think I'm gonna get away with it :-\
If you can't be a good example -- then you'll just have to be a horrible warning....

joji

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2006, 00:37:18 »
Jitterbug

I have sown some tomatoes. I started them off at the beginning of January.
Today I sowed lettuce, more tomatoes & strawberrys. But I have a vacant 3 foot fish tank at the moment that sits ona shelf above a radiator. So your not the only one to start growing stuff. :)

Mimi

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2006, 09:15:27 »