Author Topic: Total Newbie  (Read 1238 times)

BoardStupid

• Half Acre
Total Newbie
« on: September 06, 2005, 20:57:51 »
Hi a4a,
 I took over a half plot at the end of may. I managed to clear so much to get a few rows of spuds in which have produced well. So am eager to prepare for next year. Unfortunately the plot hasn't been cultivated in 15years and is covered with in order of size, bindweed, couch grass, horsetail and bramble, plus others I haven't been able to identify. These have multiplied due to my inability to attend regularly through work and other stuff.

My question are : Should I use a weedkiller or struggle with the digging ? and Which weedkiller should I use, roundup in garden centre strength doesn't seem to touch it. Oh plot is 14m x 7 m

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I have plot on my own with no help :-(
Adam
If it's not on fire it's a software problem

daisymay

• Hectare
  • Bedfordshire
Re: Total Newbie
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 21:09:09 »
Hi welcome to the site .... and welcome to the club! Quite a few of us in your boat, me included. I got my lottie in June and am still only managing to grow bindweed and couchgrass (apart form a plum tree which I inherited)  so you have done better than me!

There is generally a concensus that the hard graft route is best as chemicals do nuke the nutrients in the soil. Even if you do use chemicals you would prob need to still dig it over, preferably adding some enrichment - manure/ compost etc.....

This has come up quite a few times in the past, so have a flick through the basics and edible's sections, or try doing some searches to find previous similar questions.

Some people recommend covering sections of the lottie in old carpet or thick plastic till you have the time/ energy to dig it, for example.

spacehopper

• Hectare
  • Its a jungle out there...
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 09:18:25 »
Hi Adam, welcome to the boards! :)