Author Topic: Hibiscus  (Read 6276 times)

beejay

• Acre
  • SW London
Re: Hibiscus
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2005, 20:14:01 »
A question for the hibiscus experts!
I have a hibiscus bush in my back garden, on the sunny side, about 4 ft tall. It's never flowered.
I'm no expert, mine flowered as soon as planted without any help from me. However I recently read on another board that they don't like acid soil & prefer neutral to alkaline. Would that be any help. If not I'd be inclined to give a potash feed to try & kick start some flowering.

Amazin

• Hectare
  • N W London
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2005, 00:51:30 »
Flowerlady, a work colleague kindly brought me a cutting of hibiscus. I put it in water overnight then potted it up next day. Went out to check it yesterday and saw new growth and a couple of little leaves coming through - it's taken! It was potted up on 20th August, which is just two and a half weeks ago, so I'd certainly swipe - ahem! I mean request - some more cuttings from your sister-in-law's plant and give them a go.

;D
Lesson for life:
1. Breathe in     2. Breathe out     3. Repeat

flowerlady

• Hectare
  • "Tug-o-Weeed!"
« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2005, 23:55:26 »
Thanks for the tip Amazin,  she only gave me one tiny cutting.  It's not been quite two and a half weeks yet but I will go out and check tomorrow.

Will try to beg another but may have to wait till next year, she doesn't exactly live round the corner :(
To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven: a time to be born and time to die: a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted.     Ecclesiastes, 3:1-2

Hyacinth

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2005, 08:59:10 »