Author Topic: Courgettes  (Read 23278 times)

keef

• Hectare
Re: Courgettes
« Reply #80 on: August 08, 2005, 13:38:22 »
Are you letting them ripen so that they will store??

Nah, i'm going to stuff one for tea tonite and keep one for later. I've given the rest away. They seem to keep for weeks without doing anything special anyway.

I know there will be loads more by the end of the week, i left a couple threating looking ones on the plants last nite.

I plant mine in a big hole filled with manure - they seem to really like that. Last year i had 5 plants and had gourgettes coming out my ears for about 2 months.
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Debs

• Hectare
  • If at first you don't succeed, try and try again!!
« Reply #81 on: August 09, 2005, 18:37:57 »
Triumph at last!! ;D

Yesterday, I found 2 courgettes of approx 4 - 5".

Also dug up a good crop of potatoes (type u/k)

Potatoes were lightly boiled and fried off together with the courgettes

and sliced garlic, in olive oil and a touch of seasoning..

They tasted great!   ;D

Debs (not such a novice courgette grower now!!)

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #82 on: August 09, 2005, 23:03:32 »
Congrats Debs   ;D   Congratulations and celebrations, I want the world to know I'm as  happy a courgette grower as can be  ;D

sorry, I'll get me coat  :(
I came, I saw, I composted

Maddy

• Half Acre
« Reply #83 on: August 09, 2005, 23:06:41 »
Thanks Wardy, I'm about to go to bed with "that" song stuck in my head now  :P  Quick give me something else to sing "She is the courgette queen, small and green, only 4 - 5" long!"  Falls apart at the end I know  ;D

M.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #84 on: August 09, 2005, 23:21:28 »
 ;D ;D#

I'll go off now thinking up courgette related song lyrics.  Got to be up early as got to cook breakfast right early.  might just do courgette fritters  :o

Debs

• Hectare
  • If at first you don't succeed, try and try again!!