Author Topic: Pests have slaughtered, destroyed peas  (Read 4392 times)

Icyberjunkie

• Hectare
  • Doh..I got a slug farm,a flea beetle heaven..doh!
Re: Pests have slaughtered, destroyed peas
« Reply #20 on: July 04, 2005, 18:53:33 »
Not sure if I'm right to say I'm much happier that I'm not the only one having problems - I'm sure you know what i mean though  :-\   Having no guttering to hand I like the idea of toilet roll tubes Gin.

Do you literally just plug up teh tubes with compost in a tray?  i.e. how do you stop the compost falling out the end?   Or do you mean you use the tubes cut in half like a drain-pipe?......and is it to late to try it this year?

Iain
Neil (The Young Ones) once said "You plant the seed, the seed grows, you harvest the seed....You plant the seed....."   if only it was that simple!!!

Rose.mary

• Acre
« Reply #21 on: July 04, 2005, 23:31:06 »
It's my first year with peas also but so far no problem 8). I sowed the first ones in pots and the second and third straight in the ground. What a lovely sight when they start to come through the soil ;D. My friends and I have been eating them for a few weeks now, but not many reached boiling water. Next year I will sow twice as many, as I had forgotten how good they are eaten straight from the pod.

Rosemary

Swede Pea

• Not So New ...
« Reply #22 on: July 05, 2005, 00:57:37 »
Not sure if I'm right to say I'm much happier that I'm not the only one having problems - I'm sure you know what i mean though  :-\   Having no guttering to hand I like the idea of toilet roll tubes Gin.

Do you literally just plug up teh tubes with compost in a tray?  i.e. how do you stop the compost falling out the end?   Or do you mean you use the tubes cut in half like a drain-pipe?......and is it to late to try it this year?

Iain