Author Topic: White Rot?  (Read 3534 times)

redimp

• Hectare
  • Colonia Domitiana Lindensium, Flavia Caesariensis
White Rot?
« on: June 20, 2005, 20:59:51 »
I am dreading you are going to tell me this is white rot - have done a search on here and alta vista images and am highly suspicious but hoping it isn't.

As you know I am in my first year and I do not think my plot has been used for about 2-3 years before me.  This is the only one out of two bulbs worth of garlic cloves that is showing the signs - not that I know really what to look for.  It was on the very outside of the bed and quite hampered by weeds.  The garlic bed is also next door to the onions - none of them appear to be showing any sign.
Lotty @ Lincoln (Lat:53.24, Long:-0.52, HASL:30m)

http://www.abicabeauty

growmore

• Hectare
  • Practice Beats Theory. Don Valley South Yorks
Re: White Rot?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2005, 23:31:38 »
Sorry to tell you but it is white rot..I have found garlic is the most susceptible thing to get it,
Would avoid growing any onion family in that  part of yer plot next year...
Your onions may be ok  and only the one plant of garlic may have it ..But watch other garlic in vicinity ...
cheers Jim.
PS burn the plant dont compost it.
Cheers .. Jim

redimp

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2005, 23:34:01 »
Thanks for the bad news.  :(

Consider it destroyed and that bit of soil dug out - interesting possible remedy on main board.

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2005, 06:11:46 »
I would leave that plot for as long as you can. We didn't & lived to regret it.

Armillatox is said to be a remedy if you tackle the problem in its early stages.

I have to say that it didn't save us.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2005, 16:52:18 »