Author Topic: Mixing summer and winter crops  (Read 1286 times)

willybell

• Not So New ...
Mixing summer and winter crops
« on: March 01, 2006, 21:00:47 »
Hello,
      am new to allotmenteering, it's my first year and am planning what to put in. I read on another thread that parsnips can be planted alongside Little Gem lettuce to make good use of the beds in both summer and winter. Are there any other suitable combinations? For example I'd like to grow spring cabbage but want to make full use of the beds while they are still small. Can different cabbage types be mixed (e.g. autumn and spring)?

Thanks.

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
Re: Mixing summer and winter crops
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2006, 23:37:44 »
Hello and welcome willybell  :D Yes, spring cabbage is great for intercropping/catch cropping. I have intercropped spring cabbage with beetroot, lettuce, nasturtium and tomato - in the latter case, the tomatoes will take over the bed when you crop the spring cabbage. My Booke says that cabbage will also enjoy growing with carrot, celery, cucumber, dill, dwarf bean, kale, mint, the onion family, potato, rosemary, sage, spinach, and thyme.

Cabbages will enjoy growing with other cabbage family plants for different seasons, but you will a) need crop protection at times of year when they are vulnerable to pests if you grow them all together, and b) want to watch for soil-borne diseases - it would be a shame to lose them all if you have e.g. club root, so spreading your risk - and your crop - might be a better risk if you're at all unsure.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2006, 23:42:06 by supersprout »

willybell

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2006, 19:50:10 »
Thanks supersprout, I'll give it a go. If I want to plant out spring cabbage started in trays or a seedbed, when should I do that?
Hopefully there'll be time to produce a crop of lettuce or baby beet in the meantime.

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2006, 19:55:39 »