Author Topic: maximum number of poultry  (Read 3252 times)

superdupa

• Not So New ...
maximum number of poultry
« on: August 14, 2011, 16:42:44 »
On our site there is a quite a few plots where they keep hens ,the trouble is this year we are overrun with rats.Its so bad that they have demolished a lot of spuds and turnips.The committee ( of which I am vice chair ) are thinking of introducing a rule about the number of hens per plot, has anyone else had a cap on the number of hens and does this work.Cheers

Melbourne12

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Harrow, Middx
    • Allotmenteering Blog
Re: maximum number of poultry
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 17:31:41 »
I've no experience of such a rule, but I think that you would be better to insist on some basic husbandry standards.

If you're overrun with rats, they must be getting a substantial amount of food from somewhere.  Provided the sacks of chicken feed are secure, and the chickens are fed from properly designed feeders, there shouldn't be much in the way of gleanings for rats.  And no poultry keeper wants rats in his nestboxes, eating his eggs.

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2011, 18:47:06 »
What Melbourne12 said.  It sounds like you have a problem with husbandry standards, not stocking density.  It's not unreasonable to mandate approved feed containers and feeders as well as other reasonable husbandry standards, and that's perfectly compatible with the statutory right to keep hens under S.10 Allotments Act 1950.
An Agreement of the People for a firm and present peace upon grounds of common right

Aden Roller

• Hectare
  • Sussex near the sea
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2011, 18:19:12 »
It's very straight forward on our allotment site: Chickens = 0

We are also advised not to feed "wild life" of any sort including birds!

The fox populations appears to have reduced the rats to no sightings at all this year so far.  :)

cornykev

• Hectare