Author Topic: Dewpoint propagation cabinet  (Read 7533 times)

chickadoodle

• Quarter Acre
  • Holder of the national collection of weeds!!
Dewpoint propagation cabinet
« on: April 02, 2009, 22:38:53 »
Does anyone have any experience of this propagation cabinet please.

http://www.twowests.co.uk/TwoWestsSite/pages/product/product.asp?prod=DPMK2

With a lot of plant propagation to do I was wondering if any of you have one of these or know anything about them.  Your input would be appreciated. Thanks

thifasmom

• Hectare
  • Growing my own, rocks!!! Maidstone, Kent.
    • Kella's Creative Wishes: Handmade Jewellery & Lots more.
Re: Dewpoint propagation cabinet
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2009, 09:38:40 »
I'm sorry i have no experience with heated propagators but was thinking wouldn't it be cheaper to acquire an aluminum coldframe and lay a thermostat controlled heating mat on the bottom which you can then rest your trays on. i suppose you could always build a stand for it so that its at a comfortable work height.

a coldframe such as this is what i was thinking about:

http://www.gardensupplydirect.co.uk/greenhouses_and_cold_frames/aluminium_cold_frame/13058_p.html

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2009, 09:55:21 »
Chap who invented them lives next door to B-in-L in Cumbria.  Very clever stuff!!

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2009, 11:18:43 »
Think you'd have to be a really serious gardener (or mad ;)) to spend that kind of money on a propagator!

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2009, 11:37:47 »
What type of plants are you planning to propagate?

Barnowl

• Hectare
  • getting back to my roots [SW London]
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2009, 11:47:35 »
PS If I had the cash I think I'd get one or two of these instead

Double Vitapod

chickadoodle

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2009, 14:46:11 »