Author Topic: New to this...  (Read 2656 times)

chlodonnay

• Not So New ...
New to this...
« on: March 06, 2007, 18:31:44 »
I wanted to post to say hello to everyone on this forum. I have just joined as I have just got an allotment (well half a plot). My husband and I are sooo excited! If anyone has any advice it would be gratefully received! We are complete novices.  :-\

I have bought loads of seeds, some of which I have got in my propagator. Some of these have unfortunately gone leggy (I went away for a couple of days and left my hubby in charge!). I have repotted them and am trying to give them lots of light. Is there anything else I can do.

Would anyone have any advice about planning our plot. I was thinking of having 4 large rectangular  beds with one smaller bed in the middle. What should we use to make our paths?

I also want to grow some flowers as well as our fruit and veg. I really like dahlias but they seem very expensive to buy (bulbs). Ideally we would like to grow something that would look nice, but that wouldn't take up too much space, and that would deter nasties from eating out veg!

Thanks everyone. This looks like a really friendly forum. Happy growing!  :)

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: New to this...
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2007, 18:37:21 »
Happy's the word! And very supportive.

I'll leave the answers to the expert planners, but one caveat - DON'T try to beat the gun with sowing. With low light levels, you'll mainly get legginess.

And when handling your leggy ones, hold them by the leaves.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2007, 18:44:28 »
Hi, chlodonnay, welcome to the site..only thing I'd advise is draw a plan, with the proper measurements..mark out your paths, cover with something like weed control or old compost bags, mulch it with ash, wood chippings or straw..then you know where to dig and where to walk..happy plotting  ;D

Tee Gee

• Hectare