Author Topic: Complete novice.  (Read 7831 times)

Orfy

• Not So New ...
    • My Blog
Complete novice.
« on: May 10, 2005, 18:21:35 »
I've just signed up to A4U and am pleased to see it covers quite a few of my past times.

Food , drink and Gardening......

I'm thinking of having a go at a bit of home brewing....for a complete novice with no availability of free fruit or acres of space to brew it, would you suggest buying a cheap kit to start with or go diy?

Whats easiest, quickest and cheapest beer or wine.

I love a good ale and a dry white.
What are the costs involved for a first timer?

I guess i need to spend a little time reading up.

Thanks.

cleo

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Re: Complete novice.
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2005, 20:19:28 »
Do you really want an answer? Beer kits are the pits-one has to learn how to mash to get something better than the commercial stuff.

The top of the range wine kits are not bad,not as good as Chateau expensive but drinkable after a year or so.

Costs?-to make a kit-not so much,see another thread.

It`s up to you-and it can get adictive-been `clean` for nearly 20 years now

Stephan

Orfy

• Not So New ...
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2005, 22:01:15 »
Cheers,

so you reckon I need raw ingriedents to get a decent brew?

philcooper

• Hectare
    • Hampshire Potato Day
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2005, 08:36:17 »
I'm afraid I have to disagree with Cleo 100%, the large beer kits (2 cans, not one) cost ~£14 and produce with 3 weeks a good drinkable brew.

That's 40 pints so you can do the commercial sums yourself.

Wine takes at least 6 months to produce something drinkable and that, in my experience does not tastre like the stuff you can buy (if you like its taste ok)

For home brew beer all you really need is a 5 gallon brewing bucket, a bit of plastic pipe, a funnel and lots of bottles (from bottle bank?)

Total ~£10