Author Topic: When to harden off?  (Read 3227 times)

Mothy

• Hectare
  • My 4th season on my Lottie in Leicestershire.
When to harden off?
« on: April 27, 2005, 09:24:30 »
I have attached a piccy of my greenhouse taken this glorious morning, as I am very new to all this I am actually quite pleased that anything is actually growing at all. My question is this, my calabrese, sprouting broccoli and little gem lettuce are all coming on. When do I start to harden them off ready for planting out?
I hope that you can see enough from the photo.

Thanks!!

philcooper

• Hectare
    • Hampshire Potato Day
Re: When to harden off?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2005, 09:39:37 »
Mothy,

From the pic, it doesn't look as if you are new to all this!!

The plants you mention should be hardened off as soon as possible, the daytime temp in greenhouses these days gets very high and they become leggy very quickly

If the calabrese, broccoli and lettuce are the ones in the pic, I would have them out now!

Phil

Mothy

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2005, 09:44:19 »
Phil, thanks for the advice, I'm off down the garden to take them all outside (with a warning to the OH about letting the pet rabbit out).

The most I have ever grown in a GH before is a few toms. Cucumbers have always wilted and died. Now I have all these seedlings growing and not much idea what to do with them!!

Thanks again!  :)

westsussexlottie

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2005, 09:52:17 »
My calabrese has been outside for 2 weeks now.
(Sussex)

Svea

• Hectare
  • ...getting the hang of things...
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2005, 11:38:12 »
i am hardening my brassicas off now - read: i put them on the balcony on saturday and havent brought them back in yet. they look fine. some of them wilted a little - i brought those back in and will keep them under observation, but otherwise....:)
Gardening in SE17 since 2005 ;)

Doris_Pinks

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2005, 12:11:37 »