Author Topic: NEWBIE - HI FOLKS  (Read 6553 times)

supernan

• Half Acre
  • Chief mushroom compost digger, Bud
NEWBIE - HI FOLKS
« on: April 06, 2005, 09:49:12 »
Hi to all, I am a Newbie on this site and have just taken on a large piece of land, about 1/3 acre. I have done this sort of thing before so not a newbie to allotment gardening, this is just much bigger!. It has not been worked for 3 years, hard as a rock. Friendly farmer  :)  has ploughed and harrowed. Still got lumps in but not too many weeds as farmer has kept them down over the years. I have one helper,  pictured on my profile. He was very pleased with this mornings two ton delivery of mushroom compost and started digging right away. I am expecting a bad back aches and pains, but hopefully lovely fresh veg!!

I have just moved into the area and the locals are watching with great interest to see what is afoot. There was no green house so I have put one up  with a wooden base in the garden.  Its full already I now need another. The postman has already ordered his tomatoes, so it looks like I am going to settle in just fine.

When I get the hang of this site a bit better I'll put some pics on for you to see progress. Happy digging, Supernan & Bud
Supernan!!

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
Re: NEWBIE - HI FOLKS
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2005, 09:53:09 »
Hi Supernan, sounds very exciting, welcome to A4a.
Green fingers are the extension of a verdant heart - Russell Page

http://www.news2share.co.uk

Tulipa

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2005, 09:53:22 »
Welcome to the site.  It is a wonderful place full of so much help, support, enthusiasm and humour.  You sound to have settled in to your new home quickly, I hope you and Bud have many happy years there.

Svea

• Hectare
  • ...getting the hang of things...
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2005, 09:59:13 »
welcome aboard :)

not being able to imagine how big 1/3 acre is (how big is that????) what are you planning to grow and who are you going to feed??

svea