Author Topic: "Munty Frames" for runner beans  (Read 3246 times)

DrJohnH

• Half Acre
"Munty Frames" for runner beans
« on: September 01, 2017, 19:23:33 »
A few years back "Munty Frames" seemed to be all the rage- but less chat about them nowadays...

Any reason why?  Maybe they were improved upon, or is it something else?

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: "Munty Frames" for runner beans
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2017, 20:12:12 »
My frame is made out of the swing my kids had when they were little, I just extended the cross bar as you can see here

Considering my kids are well into their forties  it means I have been using this frame for well over thirty years.

Duke Ellington

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2017, 20:54:28 »
For the past few years I use what is known as the x frame. It's my favourite bean frame construction.
dont be fooled by the name I am a Lady!! :-*

PondDragon

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2017, 22:00:27 »
Never heard of a Munty Frame before, but looking up pictures it does seem like a good method. Used to use a bamboo cane frame tied at the top like Tee Gee's but last couple of years we've switched to the X design which I much prefer. I think it gives the bean plants more light at the top than the A shape, and it's a lot easier to tie together.

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2017, 08:33:58 »
I tend to use the A but find tieing difficult so might try an X.  Every year one whole row gets blown over somewhere on site, so I tend to use wigwams because if one goes then hopefully the rest will survive.
The munty system is a lot of work and materials to construct. 

Do you  move your frame TG or is it in the same place every year?  My MIL grew beans in the same spot for more than 50 years.  Grew mine on the spot as last year and they have done very well.