Allotment Stuff > Locations and Sites

Allotment rents - how much do you pay?

<< < (4/4)

markfield rover:
Full plots around £50 . West Midlands .

sparrow:
Half plots on our site are approx 100sqm. Cost £33/year each including water.We're self-managed on a long lease & do most of the maintenance work ourselves so have very few dealings with the Council. Council-managed sites cost £48/year per half plot in the same borough.

limakilo:
I've just been to pick my allotment.

The cost of a half plot is £75 and a full plot is £100. There is also a £20 key deposit, and £40 admin fee for the paperwork. I'm not sure if this is reasonable as it is my first time, but for me, I believe it is still cheap considering what I get. Looking around, it seems much more expensive than most, but perhaps it is something to do with it being a council site.

There are no water fees as their is no water on site.

Digeroo:
I am on a private site.  Gloucestershire.  We pay £90 per year which is for a whole plot, though I have two halfs.  They are slightly bigger than standard.  One is about 167 sq m and the other about 150.  Price included water and manure and the paths between plots are mown.  There is a £25 deposit.  Not many get that back, so you need to add a proportion to the rent.  This year is year 10 for me so that is £2.50 extra per year.  No reductions for oap.

Site has nature reserves on three sides so is an idyllic spot, and mostly quiet until someone gets going with a strimmer or rotavator.  But we do have quite a few pests.   Rabbits. deer, squirrels, voles rats, pigeons etc etc etc,

Council sites are normally cheaper.  But I think councils are having a rethink and are charging more.

skasha:
For me on a council owned and run allotment site that has been worked for the last 30 years as such,