Author Topic: Using a rotavator on very wet soil possibly in the rain  (Read 22590 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
Using a rotavator on very wet soil possibly in the rain
« on: March 22, 2016, 09:43:03 »
Hi everyone I have never used a rotavator before & have hired one for the Easter weekend. Typical of Bank Holiday weekends here in Kent it looks like it will rain for part of every day from Friday through to Monday....sigh! This may be the stupidest question ever but is it ok to rotavate very wet clay soil? I have walking boards to put down after rotavating so hopefully won't compact the soil too much after breaking it up. Any advice welcome. xjane

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
Re: Using a rotavator on very wet soil possibly in the rain
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2016, 10:30:46 »
Sorry I just wanted to add that I plan to rotavate in well rotted manure to areas where I will be growing directly in the allotment soil. I am hoping that getting the manure down to lower levels will somewhat make up for the soil damage I will do by rotavating. I will  only rotavate this one time so I can get things set up as quickly as possible. Apart from a fruit area, squash area & potatoes most of my growing will be done in raised beds so I will mix in compost etc with the allotment soil when I make the beds.
Thanks

Jayb

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2016, 10:41:55 »
I use a rotavator and find the ground can't be too wet or it just won't give a nice finish, but my jobbie is probably no where as powerful as a commercial one. Is there anyway you can cover some of your plot to stop it getting a soaking until you get a chance to work it, might make all the difference. Just a thought, if there is any remaining straw in the manure it might get tangled up in the rotavator? I'm sure someone with more experience will be along shortly.
Seed Circle site http://seedsaverscircle.org/
My Blog, Mostly Tomato Mania http://mostlytomatomania.blogspot.co.uk/

Crystalmoon

• Hectare