Author Topic: onions when to satrt them off  (Read 1812 times)

Nora42

• Acre
onions when to satrt them off
« on: January 13, 2015, 16:51:56 »
Hello I have some onion seeds and would like to know if as some say plant In Feb and others say plant in march if in fact I can sow a few of the all in February not for show but just for home use I am not trying to get the massive but I always seem to have too many other seedlings on the go in march and April and wondered if I can stagger them and should spring onions be planted direct or can I grow these in modules too?
I am a seed onion novice I know they need light and some warmth to start them off but no heat after that.

thanks
Nora
Norf London

okra

• Hectare
  • Grow your own its much safer
    • Cyprus Gardener
Re: onions when to satrt them off
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2015, 17:13:15 »
Started some off in the propagator yesterday.
Grow your own its much safer - http://www.cyprusgardener.co.uk
http://cyprusgardener.blogspot.co.uk
Author of Olives, Lemons and Grapes (ISBN-13: 978-3841771131)

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2015, 17:17:59 »
There are those that say sow on the shortest day (21/12) and harvest on the longest day, I find the harvesting date in my neck of the woods is a bit ambitious!

I was thinking of making a start next week which fits in with this link;

http://www.thegardenersalmanac.co.uk/Data/Onion/Onion.htm

Then again I have been experimenting this last couple of years to see if these timings are right!

I have always wondered how plants ( in particular weeds) know when to appear so I have been making some observations and my theory is working out reasonably well!

My theory is;

Start the new years seed sowing when the snowdrops appear in my garden (there is only a few out at the moment)hence me thinking about sowing my onions.

Start my 'hardy stuff' when the Crocus appear,