Author Topic: Pruning raspberries  (Read 2031 times)

Yorkshire Lass

• Acre
Pruning raspberries
« on: July 18, 2014, 13:05:54 »
This is my first year of growing raspberries and I've had a very good crop. They were summer fruiting so what is the best time to prune? I am assuming I cut back the canes which have fruited and leave the new ones for next year.

Nora42

• Acre
Re: Pruning raspberries
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 14:01:09 »
By now the ones that have fruited should be looking a lot worse for wear, shabby with yellowing leaves and you will notice the stems are brown compared to the new shoots - next years fruit which are green.
Cut all old brown wood down to ground level.
Leave all new green canes.

I find this job quite therapeutic as your raspberries will look so much tidier than before you started.
I usually leave the mulching and feeding until autumn.

hope that helps Nora
Norf London

chriscross1966

• Hectare
  • Visionhairy
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2014, 14:46:38 »
Pruning raspberries is a job for doing a bit later in the year in my book, though it certainly won't hurt to do it now, you have to seriously mistreat a raspberry to do any harm..... I find with Tulameen that the fruited stalks die back anyway..

Yorkshire Lass

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2014, 17:42:12 »
Thank you , a great help, if it cools down I may do it this weekend

squeezyjohn

• Hectare
  • Oxfordshire - Sandy loam on top of clay
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2014, 17:47:25 »
It depends on the type of raspberry!

Summer rasps should be cut down after they've given all their fruit - quite soon normally.  This is so they can grow up new canes before the end of the year for next year's crop.