Author Topic: Allotment Choices  (Read 4327 times)

MattBristol

Allotment Choices
« on: December 03, 2013, 18:21:18 »
Hi Guys,

I'm new to allotmenting and have been offered a choice of three nearby. What would you go for here?

1. Square ish plot. Walk-in polytunnel (which I think would be left there). bit messy and next to bins, 135sq metres. £34
2. Long narrow plot, beds grassy. 175 sq metres. £51
3. Small plot, 100sq metres. £34. Beds grassy but plenty of room for a shed!

Bearing in mind this is my first time and maybe I should start small, but I would want to get some storage so perhaps not too small?!

thanks for your opinions

« Last Edit: December 03, 2013, 18:26:23 by MattBristol »

okra

• Hectare
  • Grow your own its much safer
    • Cyprus Gardener
Re: Allotment Choices
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2013, 18:27:54 »
Personally, I would opt for the polytunel plot which will provide a good start for seedlings to transfer outside, extend your growing season and the opportunity to grow earlier crops of tomatoes, peppers etc
Grow your own its much safer - http://www.cyprusgardener.co.uk
http://cyprusgardener.blogspot.co.uk
Author of Olives, Lemons and Grapes (ISBN-13: 978-3841771131)

Bill Door

• Acre
  • Calne Wilts The builders put down clayish soil
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2013, 18:37:57 »
Very difficult to say as all three have their pros.

If you have the time and can do a lot of hard work I would go for the biggest plot.

If you don't have oodles of time and look on the allotment as relaxation and veges are a bonus, then go got the smallest.

Other considerations are

where is the water tap/tank?

Easy access or is it a long slog from the gate?

Can you drive close to it?

are the plots surrounded by other well worked plots or are they also left?

Anyway that is my small take on it.  Whatever you do remember to enjoy your gardening.
Don't over do it to start with.

best wishes

Bill

MattBristol

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2013, 19:19:08 »