Author Topic: Herbs for winter  (Read 2373 times)

galina

• Hectare
  • Johanniskirchen
Herbs for winter
« on: August 09, 2013, 11:41:19 »
Following on from the recommendation to dry a glut of chilies, here is another suggestion.  Credit for the idea goes to my mother-in-law.  Last summer she asked me for some herbs.  I thought she wanted to strike cuttings and gave her quite a lot.  Instead she dried them in the conservatory in small bunches, removed the leaves from the woody stalks, crumbled them and filled jars with them.  With a pretty label, these made nice presents.   We got one too  :toothy10:

With all the marjoram, thyme and sage at their very best on the plot or in the garden now, I thought this might interest A4Aers looking for ideas for small, personal Christmas presents.  Speaking as a cook, I certainly enjoyed using my dried marjoram in lots of recipes last winter and I have just cut and dried some for this winter.

pumkinlover

Re: Herbs for winter
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 20:39:11 »
Following on from the recommendation to dry a glut of chilies, here is another suggestion.  Credit for the idea goes to my mother-in-law.  Last summer she asked me for some herbs.  I thought she wanted to strike cuttings and gave her quite a lot.  Instead she dried them in the conservatory in small bunches, removed the leaves from the woody stalks, crumbled them and filled jars with them.  With a pretty label, these made nice presents.   We got one too  :toothy10:

With all the marjoram, thyme and sage at their very best on the plot or in the garden now, I thought this might interest A4Aers looking for ideas for small, personal Christmas presents.  Speaking as a cook, I certainly enjoyed using my dried marjoram in lots of recipes last winter and I have just cut and dried some for this winter.

Do you use the flowers for the marjoram  Galina, this is what my Italian "guru" tells me.

galina

• Hectare
  • Johanniskirchen
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2013, 12:53:34 »