Author Topic: Perennial veggies  (Read 7101 times)

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
Perennial veggies
« on: March 05, 2013, 04:15:22 »
 I wanted to start this here again as we have chatted in several posts about them but time goes on and we all forget where the info is and the newbies don't know the info is there.

There are quite a few folks growing perennial  veggies and I think it would be great to have a topic just for this valuable information and hope everyone adds there input.

Maybe we could get it as a sticky so it doesn't get lost.

I am a relative newbie myself  to perennial veggies and would welcome a reminder of types and growing needs.

I have two or three types of  topset onions, potato onions, a couple of types of perennial cabbage, rhubarb, 3 types of  Jerusalem Artichokes,asparagus  and hopefully some Babbington leeks if they have overwintered. I have seeds for a few other veggies too which didn't get in last year but am hoping to get them going this year now I have a bit more room.

I find this area of gardening quite fascinating  and find I am always on the look out for info regarding things new to me..

Please add your info and , successes etc

XX Jeannine
When God blesses you with a multitude of seeds double  the blessing by sharing your  seeds with other folks.

Mrs Tweedy

• Quarter Acre
Re: Perennial veggies
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 08:05:52 »
We have a salad leaf/herb that is perenial. Broad leaf sorrel stays until the first frosts and pops up again at the first sight of warmth.
We have several plants in the garden it has a slightly sharp lemony flavour and is lovely in a mixed salad when leaves are small and delicious added to a cream sauce added at the end of cooking time. Large leaves make a lovely summer soup too.

We have to cover against the pigeons but we get loads and when it gets too tall our chickens get the large tough leaves.

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 08:21:33 »