Author Topic: Advice of termination of tenancy needed.  (Read 3566 times)

Freckle

Advice of termination of tenancy needed.
« on: July 11, 2012, 07:44:17 »
Hi everyone,
I’m relatively new to being a plot holder and would like some advice regarding termination of my tenancy.

I have a plot on a privately run allotment, I paid £275 as a goodwill gesture (if that’s the right term) and £50 for my share in the allotment site; this was back in September 2011.
The plot was reasonably clear of about 50% with the remaining having 35 grape vines and a fenced in area which had been overrun with brambles.
I have to say I haven’t done as much as I could have done on the plot this year due to the weather and my work, I’m a self employed gardener, so when it hasn’t been raining my work load is rather huge.
I have had two warning letters regarding none cultivation. The first I was given 4 weeks, and the second letter gave me 6 weeks.
The plot although not cultivated to the percentage satisfaction (60%) has not been allowed to run wild. The vines were also all pruned over the winter period ready for this year’s growth. After all the rain we’ve had the 50% of the plot that was clear had a carpet of weeds the highest up to my knees.
After the 2nd letter I explained to a committee member that I did have plans to cultivate it and have courgette, cabbage and couli ready to go in.
My plan was to treat all the weeds with weed killer, borrow  a rotovator from the plot holder next door and once the weeds were down turn it all over and get it planted up.
So with six weeks grace I started, it took 3 weeks for the weeds to die off,  I then strimmed it down to ground level ready for rotovation.
The weekend I was due to use the rotovator the owner of the machine went on holiday so I had to wait for his return.
By hand I turned over an area and got my courgette plants in.