Author Topic: Best Book?  (Read 4353 times)

spartz

Best Book?
« on: February 24, 2005, 12:33:27 »

Hi all,

I'm hoping the experienced veggie growers out there can recommend a book for a complete novice.  I'm about to move into a house with a garden (first time in my married life!) and would love to grow my own veggies.  But where do I start?  There is a huge choice on Amazon, so I thought I would ask here for peoples favourites.
All answers appreciated!  Meanwhile, I think I'll explore this marvellous site some more...

Spartz (in Germany).

Sarah-b

• Acre
Re: Best Book?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2005, 12:42:19 »
I like Joy Larkom's veg book - thick paperback - lots of info. (think it's called Grow your own veg). That one is good for proper information. She has several other books - one of which is very inspirational - Creative Vegetable Gardening.
Magazines can give you plently of info and this forum is really excellent - use the search facility to pick up lots of useful info about any topic you cna think of.

Sarah.

NattyEm

• Acre
    • Em and Lous Lottie
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2005, 12:44:46 »
if you search the site this question comes up a lot!  click the search button at the top :)

kenkew

• Hectare
  • Don't look now but...
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2005, 13:29:04 »
The RHS have what I'd call a good coverage applicable to new gardeners. Their 'Growing vegetables' (ISBN 1 84000152 6 )is just one of a library of books on gardening which include Garden Planning, pruning, propogation, growing fruit and growing under glass.
Prices are about £9 a book and certainly go into enough detail to put you on the right track.

northener

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2005, 13:41:27 »
Agree with sara joy larkim -
grow your own veg as well as been very informative its a dead handy size

Multiveg

• Hectare
  • Oops, been gone a while, but still allotmenting.
    • Forum
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2005, 14:07:31 »