Author Topic: newbie with so many questions!  (Read 1639 times)

eastybeasty1

• Not So New ...
newbie with so many questions!
« on: May 21, 2012, 20:49:21 »
hi everyone :)

well my first post here so hopefully i dont say anything too daft!  :D ;D

right well a bit of background, my husbands been a member on the forum here for a while but hes a frequenter of the veggie forum. im a bit of a newbie to veg growing (this is our first proper year growing edibles) and i decided i wanted to add a bit of colour in the form of flowers and attempt to grow ones that would be bee and wildlife friendly.

i planted pansies, violas and marigolds in modules and they are starting to make their way to various places in the garden as fairly big seedlings so its nice to see some reward for our efforts.

anyway theres been a few problems. We have 3 narrow borders in the front garden (roughly north facing with a clay loam soil) which i sowed some seed directly to each bit about 6 weeks ago and theres been pretty much no show. im not sure if this is due to the soil, the horrible weather we've been having or a bit of both. we're in grangemouth, central scotland to anyone that doesnt know, about half an hour from edinburgh.

ive got a bit of a dilemma and hoping that people more wise than me can help! I sowed the following seeds outside and I dont know if theres any point resowing due to the lack of success already and also am i getting too late in the year?

(suttons) linaria
(suttons) summer long flowering mix
(johnsons) ladybird poppy (havent sown these already but would like to if its not too late)
(johnsons) cornfield mixture

i wouldnt mind sowing into modules and then potting outside if this would make a difference but pretty cluless so any help would be great! can give more info about the seeds i mentioned above if needed :)

small

• Hectare
Re: newbie with so many questions!
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2012, 21:31:03 »
Hi, welcome.