Author Topic: Leggy tomato plants :(  (Read 4268 times)

fitzsie

• Acre
Leggy tomato plants :(
« on: May 13, 2012, 17:07:15 »
This is my first time at growing tomatoes from seed, Marmande and Fioritino (sp?) which started off well but the plants seem to be growing so slowly, and when they do it is upwards rather then outwards !! At the momennt they are in my porch which has sun for a good part of the day. I only have a 4 tier plastic greenhouse which I will put in when (if) they get bigger.
I've just had my parents round and my Dads first comment was, "they're very leggy". What am I doing wrong? When I potted them on I made sure the soil was higher up the stem taking off the first leaves. Is it because of the cool weather we have been having? Any tips gratefully received.
Bring back Spotty Dog........

Deb P

• Hectare
  • Still digging it....
Re: Leggy tomato plants :(
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 17:18:35 »
Plants usually get leggy from inadequate light....so that is the first thing I would check. Tomato plants like to be kept over 10 degrees at all times too, the undersides of the leaves look slightly purple if cool temperatures are contributing to the slow growth. I would also consider giving then some seaweed tonic to boost root growth and general vigour, they don't usually require feeding with tomato fertiliser until the first flowers appear so don't be tempted to feed too early. My tomatoes have really only started taking off since I repotted them last week, so you could consider potting them on into bigger pots if the roots have filled the current pots.   ;D
If it's not pouring with rain, I'm either in the garden or at the lottie! Probably still there in the rain as well TBH....🥴

http://www.littleoverlaneallotments.org.uk

fitzsie

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 17:42:42 »