Author Topic: Walk in Greenhouse question  (Read 3194 times)

lollydeakins

Walk in Greenhouse question
« on: March 18, 2012, 12:47:23 »

Newbie here so hello all  :) I've just got our first allotment plot - no waiting list and 3 1/2 plots to choose from! very lucky and I can start work in a couple of weeks.
Anyhoo we have managed to get a greenhouse off of Freecycle (more luck!) and that's going in our garden but I'm wondering if its worth buying a walk in greenhouse - the fabric type - to have on my plot. I know they aren't great for actually growing in but do you think its worth getting one just to use as shelter i.e if the heavens open when we were down there and storing bits and bobs in. Or will it just fly away at the first hint of wind?  ???

Thank you  ;D

Kleftiwallah

• Acre
Re: Walk in Greenhouse question
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 13:16:38 »

Golden rule No1.   NEVER take anything down the allotment you are not prepared to lose.  (one way or another).   

As to it blowing away, as long as you sink the fabric into the ground it should stay.     Cheers,    Tony.
" I may be growing old, but I refuse to grow up !"

lollydeakins

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2012, 13:22:47 »
Thanks Tony, they're only 30 odd quid so might risk it - didnt think of burying the fabric (Im blonde! lol) cheers for that  :)

Im am tempted however to make a smaller version of this http://www.squidoo.com/plasticbottlegreenhouse

Squash64

• Hectare
    • Walsall Road Allotments
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2012, 14:39:54 »
Hello Lolly and welcome to A4A.

Did you mean one of these -
[attachment=1]

It was brilliant for the first couple of years but then the fabric started to disintegrate and now only the frame is left.  I grew tomatoes and chillies in it and they did really well. 

You might be better off looking for a small cheap shed if you only want it for shelter.
Betty
Walsall Road Allotments
Birmingham

allotment website:-
www.growit.btck.co.uk

compostbin

• Not So New ...