Author Topic: Newbie with a new plot  (Read 3719 times)

tottieheed

• Not So New ...
Newbie with a new plot
« on: February 23, 2012, 17:42:25 »
Hello

I am very new to growing things and have only just got the keys to my brand new allotment, which, up until 2 months ago was a grassy field with an occasional tree. The site has been ploughed, divided into plots and sheds erected. The soil seems pretty heavy with lots of roots and very few stones.

I am interested in knowing what your priorities and timescales would be with such a plot. What mistakes am I likely to make and how can I avoid making them? I feel that if I get it right at this stage it may save problems in the future.

I think what I mean is, what would you do if you could start your allotment again from scratch?

I was hoping to plant some early potatoes on the first weekend in March, some onions too at the same time. Will this be too early in Fife, Scotland?

Any advice will be gratefully received and if anyone is interested I can post some photos as the plot takes shape.

Many thanks

J

Buster54

• Acre
Re: Newbie with a new plot
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 18:23:59 »
Hi and welcome tottieheed a few pics wouldn't go a miss as we all like pics,If it were me I would make a plan of what crops you are going to plant and plan for crop rotating as like what you gonna do with the ground once your early potatoes are dug up were your gonna plant your winter veg that will be sitting from September till March or onions and garlic that wont be ready till June July  time and as for mistakes I make them every year,then start digging the plot removing roots weeds and the like and plant as you go,can't speak for where you are but we generally  have to time our spuds to emerge just after the last frost  in sunny South Yorks which is forecast to be early May
This is just a taste for you your no doubt gonna get lots more advice then it upto you  so happy allotmenteering