Author Topic: Newbie here- how many potatos?  (Read 2293 times)

CambourneSandra

• Quarter Acre
  • Cambourne, Cambridgeshire
Newbie here- how many potatos?
« on: February 19, 2012, 14:40:35 »
The first thing we are going to try and grow are potatoes. How many should I plant?

I currently have 7 swift, 5 charlotte and 5 red rooster seed potatoes.

Should I plant these all at the same time? And would recommend any more?

Flighty

• Hectare
    • Flighty's Plot
Re: Newbie here- how many potatos?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2012, 15:03:31 »
How many you should plant really depends on how many you eat and how much space you have to grow them.
I would work out how many you can plant and work on that basis. Maincrop ones store well  for use through the winter.
All potatoes can be planted out at the same time. First earlies, such as Swift, will be ready in about 12 weeks whilst maincrop varieties, such as Rooster, won't be ready until September.
I'd certainly grow more Charlottes as I really like them, and they do store well.

There's lots of good information on this website - http://www.jbaseedpotatoes.co.uk/index.php?route=common/home

Flighty's plot,  http://flightplot.wordpress.com,  is my blog.

I support the Gardening with Disabilities Trust, http://www.gardeningwithdisabilitiestrust.org.uk

CambourneSandra

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2012, 15:06:09 »
How many you should plant really depends on how many you eat and how much space you have to grow them.
I would work out how many you can plant and work on that basis. Maincrop ones store well  for use through the winter.
All potatoes can be planted out at the same time. First earlies, such as Swift, will be ready in about 12 weeks whilst maincrop varieties, such as Rooster, won't be ready until September.
I'd certainly grow more Charlottes as I really like them, and they do store well.

There's lots of good information on this website - http://www.jbaseedpotatoes.co.uk/index.php?route=common/home