Author Topic: What potatoes are you growing this year?  (Read 17260 times)

goodlife

• Hectare
Re: What potatoes are you growing this year?
« Reply #40 on: February 12, 2012, 18:59:00 »
Code: [Select]
What about ones you would not grow? Maris Piper....they always get horribly scabby and eaten by every possible pest.

steve76

• Acre
« Reply #41 on: February 12, 2012, 19:30:38 »
Winston grew them for the 1st time last year and they were super, Anya love pfa but hate the nobbles so thought I'd give them a try and Majestic new one for me,
Going to try int- kidney again didn't do very well for me the 1st time a couple of yrs ago but every one else does well on our plot who grow them so going to give them a 2ND chance,
 I've room for one more was thinking about doing an unusual type any ideas???

Gordonmull

• Acre
  • Grangemouth. On clay, becoming clay loam...slowly
« Reply #42 on: February 13, 2012, 00:58:57 »
It's my first year for tatties and after much head scratching and potato variety database searching decided on Maris Bard, Nicola and Romano. Fingers crossed....

chriscross1966

• Hectare
  • Visionhairy
« Reply #43 on: February 13, 2012, 01:35:21 »
Kestrel and Sarpo Mira. The Sarpo seem to do what they say on the packet although not much flavour to them. Last year had a very good crop

THey're OK baked if tat helps.... Try Setanta if you want blight-resistance and a good taste.... ANd I believe Sarpo Kilfi is supposed to be quite nice too...

chriscross1966

• Hectare
  • Visionhairy
« Reply #44 on: February 13, 2012, 01:42:49 »
Winston grew them for the 1st time last year and they were super, Anya love pfa but hate the nobbles so thought I'd give them a try and Majestic new one for me,
Going to try int- kidney again didn't do very well for me the 1st time a couple of yrs ago but every one else does well on our plot who grow them so going to give them a 2ND chance,
 I've room for one more was thinking about doing an unusual type any ideas???