Author Topic: Sweet Potatoes  (Read 4826 times)

winecap

• Acre
    • Jon's Allotment
Sweet Potatoes
« on: January 04, 2012, 22:39:44 »
I read somewhere, but can't remember where, that the best (cheapest) way to grow new sweet potato slips is to take cuttings in the Autumn. I "borrowed" a side shoot from a plant in my friends greenhouse, back in September, I think, and it seemed to take root. It looked very unhappy when it started turning cold, so its now in the spare bedroom keeping warm til spring. Seems to be doing fine, and growing new leaves, though its only a couple of inches high. Has anybody propagated this way? and do you have any advice? When do you think it will be safe to go back to the greenhouse and does anybody actually grow theirs  outside? I have never tried growing sweet potato before.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Sweet Potatoes
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 08:05:19 »
Keep it in the warm as long as possible... it might get quite large! Here in Derby I only grow them under glass... but have seen them grown successfully outside in Leicestershire..   :-\

winecap

• Acre
    • Jon's Allotment
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2012, 22:25:09 »
I've resurrected this old thread to give an update on my sweet potato plant. It grew quite well in the greenhouse and spread in several directions, covering about 12 foot end to end. My question now is when do I dig it up? I have successfully taken 3 (and maybe more) cuttings to grow on again next year, so I'm hoping there is a worthwhile crop below ground. Has anybody dug theirs yet?

pumkinlover

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2012, 19:44:43 »
Yes -well no. I had a firkle and was a tad disappointed, however as I plonked them in between the tomatoes when I realised that the summer was not going to be good. Then did not water or feed as much as I think I should.  You never know there may be more buried when I clear out the toms and get stuck in!