Author Topic: Will this work? Plastic covers on raised beds to create mini poly tunnels?  (Read 1808 times)

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
Hi everyone, I usually dont grow veg on my allotment during the winter as my arthritis gets so bad but this year I am going to try my best.....I dont have a poly tunnel but have been covering my small raised beds with thick plastic sheeting to make mini tunnels. The beds are the plastic sort that help to keep the soil warm & I have filled them with soft compost rather than the rock hard clay my lotty is made of. I am planning to attempt to grow winter lettuce & other plants that need to be under cover during the winter (seedlings are in a platic greenhouse at home at the moment) but it feels so cold tonight Im wondering if Im just kidding myself that it will work ok. As I have no experience of poly tunnels  I am assuming they are unheated? This may well be a very stupid question but when a seed packet says ok in winter under cover does that mean in an unheated tunnel? Thanks x Jane

pumkinlover

Something I've been wondering :-X

Crystalmoon

• Hectare
Glad Im not the only one :D the seed packets are so vague....under cover could mean in a greenhouse! Sigh xJane

ru2010

• Not So New ...
Hi Jane,

I think your covered raised beds will work exactly like a greenhouse - a greenhouse, after all, is just a layer of glass or plastic between the plants and the elements!

You could always get a couple of thermometers and measure the respective temperatures of your beds and the outside world - you could post the results on here over a few weeks period, it would be interesting to see how much difference there is.

So, bung your seeds in and see what happens.

lottie lou

• Hectare
  • Birmingham