Author Topic: Powdery Mildew  (Read 3051 times)

Ragdoll Lady

• Half Acre
Powdery Mildew
« on: July 19, 2011, 09:33:58 »
My lemon cucumbers and courgettes have sucumbed to powdery mildew. I have read that spraying with 50% skimmed milk and 50% water will help solve the problem. Does this work? and if so why do the plants get this mildew anyway.?

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
Re: Powdery Mildew
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2011, 10:11:02 »
Oh I was afraid to read that. This is my first year growing cucumbers and I suspect they have a touch of it. I took off the affected leaves but no doubt it is contagious. I sprayed once with Bordeaux Mixture, I would like to spray again but it keeps raining here :(
Does this mean that the whole plant will die off? It is just setting fruit, I will be so disappointed if they all die.
2012 - Snow in February, non-stop rain till July. Blight and rot are rife. Thieving voles cause strife. But first runner beans and lots of greens. Follow an English allotment in urban France: http://roos-and-camembert.blogspot.com

Bugloss2009

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2011, 10:41:52 »
you could try a bicarb of soda solution, but you need to add a wetting agent like washing up liquid to get it to work at all.  It helps a bit, but it does damage the leaves to some extent also.

lillian

• Acre
  • Suffolk
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2011, 11:39:12 »
My lemon cucumbers and courgettes have sucumbed to powdery mildew. I have read that spraying with 50% skimmed milk and 50% water will help solve the problem. Does this work? and if so why do the plants get this mildew anyway.?

I thought I heard on gardener question time that it was full fat milk and water. Something to do with the fatty acids in the milk.

davyw1

• Hectare
  • I love My Country
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2011, 13:02:20 »
The recipies are
1 Tablespoon of Bicarb
1/2 tea spoon washing up liquid
To 1 Gallon of clean water