Author Topic: Advice needed.  (Read 2755 times)

MOSSY1947

• Not So New ...
Advice needed.
« on: July 05, 2011, 13:03:19 »
I have an allotment up in the Castlereagh Hills in Belfast. I am new to this hobby but it is something I have always wanted to do, so with retirement, I decided to take it up. My problem is..... I am inundated with weeds and no matter how often I clear them they seem to be back in a day or so. Also flocks of wood pigeons are in abundance.  A friend in the construction industry gave me a load of black polythene membrane and also stacks of cuttings of one inch polypropylene underground water pipe.

If I put the membrane under the raised beds with holes to put plants, veg etc. in and make a cloche with the pipe and cover it with debris netting would that help solve my problem. I am told that the membrane will only encourage insects etc seeking warmth and dampness.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mossy

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Advice needed.
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2011, 13:25:48 »
All of that is correct... but it will get better if you persevere...  :)

Ellen K

• Hectare
  • Loughborough, Leicestershire
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2011, 13:37:50 »
^^ yes, exactly.

Welcome to the forum and to the real world of growing stuff.

You need to recognise that everything you've seen on TV is highly idealised and in reality it is a never ending battle with weeds.

I have seen only a few people planting stuff though black plastic but I would not recommend it.  You get slug colonies and watering becomes a problem.  Just keep tackling the weeds and keep going.  A few weeds doesn't necessarily mean your crops will be rubbish.

And yes, netting everything protects from our common enemy the woodpigeon.  That is just how it is these days.  My Dad never netted anything but these days if you drive past any allotment site, it is all debris netting.