Author Topic: Dry Horse Manure  (Read 5261 times)

janetannjames

Dry Horse Manure
« on: May 28, 2011, 16:59:02 »
Collected two trailer loads of horse/pony manure last weekend. It's quite fresh - not rotted and dosen't smell at all - but it is very dry probably because we haven't had any appreciable rain here for the last three months. I have stacked it two of the pallet compost bins. Should I just leave it to rot down or should it be watered as it is so dry. The two heaps have already started "shrinking". Any suggestions gratefully  received.

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
Re: Dry Horse Manure
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 17:25:55 »
I'd leave it be, but then I'm no poo expert.    :P
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

GeeGee

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 15:43:20 »
Five horses, but not exactly a poo expert when it comes to turning to to manure.

However, from experience of poo picking the paddocks during the summer. When the poo has been there for a few days in the heat it really dries up and has no substance to it. It literally breaks up and turns into dusty little clumps.

I did start doing some research when I found we had finally got our allotment and, according to the experts it has to be kept warm and damp to turn into proper manure. It also has to be aerated either by turning with a fork or by the static method of sticking something like plastic pipes with holes drilled in them to get the air through and keep the heat going. The site I was reading (sorry can't remember which one it is at the mo) said cover it with matting, tarpaulin or thick plastic to keep heat in, rain off (because if it gets too wet it won't work either) and then if it gets too dry water it. Apparently the texture should be pliable and keep its shape if you squeeze it, but it should not be too wet and ooze water when you squeeze. Site also suggested a compost thermometer to check the poo was kept at an ambient temperature of around 70 degrees F.