Author Topic: Brassica cuttings  (Read 28185 times)

squeezyjohn

• Hectare
  • Oxfordshire - Sandy loam on top of clay
Re: Brassica cuttings
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2011, 19:31:55 »
I'm sure the two are closely related, goodlife, but the Daubentons I bought online from www.aromatiques.fr are green for the main part and have slightly frilly leaves.  The Taunton Deane cutting bought from the plant fair in Somerset is deep green/purple and has purple stems and no sign of frills on the leaves.  I would say they look like quite distinct varieties.

Robert - I don't think you can get seeds for Taunton Deane - the woman I bought it from says it doesn't ever flower.  I've heard of Daubentons going to seed occasionally, but I've never seen seeds advertised.

I'm fairly new to this game and could be talking out of my hat of course!  Robert - my intention is that once the Taunton Deane is established enough to take cuttings from then I'll do that for as many people as I can as well as planting some spares myself.  It's pretty small at the moment though but seems to have established itself quite well.  I'll try and remember next year to look back over this thread.

All the best.

Squeezy

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #21 on: May 17, 2011, 19:56:31 »
Squeezy..the variegated one on photo that I posted..I bought it from France too.. ::)..and goes under same name as yours..I think they it is just 'general' name rather than variety name.
The Taunton Deane that I've got (green one on photo) I got posted from Knighthayes Court..the head gardener sent note to go with it..Taunton Dean Cottages Kale as variety name and general name Daubenton kale.
So looks like there is different sorts going around....my Taunton is not big enough yet for cuttings neither...but once grown..would nice to do bit of variety swaps.. ;)..and compare the tastes..

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #22 on: May 17, 2011, 20:03:20 »
http://www.plantes-et-jardins.com/catalogue/catalogue4.asp?id_variations=1615