Author Topic: any advice would be greatly appreciated  (Read 11508 times)

catherton2

• Not So New ...
any advice would be greatly appreciated
« on: April 12, 2011, 15:55:25 »
hey everyone im new to this site im be honest apart from playing on my dads allotment as a young child iv never had much intereact with them, the reason i have set up this account up is to ask some advice and options on a university project i am doing.

i am studying architectural technology at the university of central Lancashire for my final project of this year we have been given the assignment of looking into allotments and the people who use them. from the breif i have been given by tutors it is obvious that they them selfs have also never been on an allotment properly, the task we have been given is to totaly re design the are'a where allotments are and come up with building designs for say over night stays for people who do not live local to the allotments or maybe some kind of alternative green house.

The reason iv come on today is to gather any information you could have to spare anything you yourselves think could improve allotment area's.

any help would be greatly appreciated as i wish to have as much information to present to my tutor and other students and i shall also gladly display my work for anyone to look at if they are interested on the site as i progress.

picman

• Acre
Re: any advice would be greatly appreciated
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2011, 19:23:54 »
Oh dear... :)

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2011, 19:41:29 »
We could come up with enough for a PhD thesis between us, but why don't you visit your local allotments, and ask the people there? Do a case study, and it might go down better than random answers.

aj

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2011, 19:50:16 »
The only comment I'd make [apart from a sarcastic comment on the correct use of apostrophes] would be that the whole point of allotments is that they are local......