Author Topic: Interesting and imaginative ideas for supporting beans and peas  (Read 11088 times)

bigcatmaniac

• Not So New ...
Hi there

I'm starting to think about ways to support my beans and peas - on quite an exposed and windy site.  I'm not very good at DIY - and could just go down the canes stuck in the ground in rows or teepees look - but before I do this I thought I'd try the forum first for some interesting and imaginative ideas for how to support them.  What has worked for you in the past>

Many thanks

Bigcat

Obelixx

• Hectare
  • Vendée, France
Re: Interesting and imaginative ideas for supporting beans and peas
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2011, 09:01:51 »
My veg garden backs onto an arable field to the north west of the house and in summer the sun goes down over there so I didn't want a solid boundary fence.  I bought some 5m x 2m strips of metal grid that builders use for reinforcing concrete - available in various guages of metal and grid squares - and attached it to vertical wooden posts taken from our daughter's old climbing frame that we set in concrete.

It makes a very sturdy but barely visible barrier to keep the dog in, let the pheasants through to feed and also support beans, pumpkins (which I train up for extra sun on the fruits and more space on the ground - and a fan trained tayberry.   I've also grown beans up it.

In winter, it's easy to attach a 90cms high roll of split canes as a windbreak.   The metal grid isn't expensive and will last years.   
Obxx - Vendée France

steve76

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2011, 10:00:49 »
Hi
I use the good old cane's never had a problem yet ;) and it means i can move the beans around every year as not permanently set up.
Saying that a bloke a couple of plots up from me has a 2x2 A frame set in to concrete at each end and a 2x2 top pieace running along the top that he has string coming down and buried in the soil when he plants his beans, very sturdy structure.

taurus

• Hectare