Author Topic: aubergines  (Read 4735 times)

blackcountrysteve

• Quarter Acre
aubergines
« on: January 05, 2011, 19:13:33 »
I fancy growing some this year, any advice or tips please ? both for growing and eating !!

thanks

sunloving

• Hectare
  • Living on a small holding in Ireland
Re: aubergines
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 19:21:02 »
Hi
Well im not an expert but i have learnt to grow the smaller varieties and grow them near the green house door so that the pollinators can find them or else in a hot spot outside.
Sow them relatively early say end of feb as they are slow growing and watch out for the prickles.
good luck
x sunloving

PeterVV

• Half Acre
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 20:46:17 »
I tried a small variety last year, had about 2 golf ball size fruits!, one plant on the allotment, one in a conservatory, and one in the garden, wont be growing them again!

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, 21:53:44 »
Anyone tried hand pollinating them? I tried growing them outside one year; I got one two-inch aub, and wouldn't bother again.

lottie lou

• Hectare
  • Birmingham
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2011, 22:15:31 »
Tried them in pots in the greenhouse.  Won't bother again.  Lots of other stuff to grow with better results and they are relatively cheap in the market.

Jayb

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2011, 22:35:34 »
I like the smaller fruiting ones they seem more more able to produce in a welsh summer! I find them a useful size to cook with too.
If you haven't got a greenhouse the patio ones do quite well in a pot in a warm sheltered spot. I feed mine the same as tomatoes. I agree with sunloving, start them early.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2011, 22:46:59 by Jayb »
Seed Circle site http://seedsaverscircle.org/
My Blog, Mostly Tomato Mania http://mostlytomatomania.blogspot.co.uk/

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2011, 22:42:50 »