Author Topic: New allotment and turves  (Read 3245 times)

CornishLass

• Not So New ...
New allotment and turves
« on: November 23, 2010, 14:16:50 »
Hello everyone!

Newbie here :)

I got my brand spanking new allotment about a month ago and it was previously meadow that has been ploughed by the farmer and turned into allotments, which is great.

However, when I go to try and dig over the plot there are loads of turves underneath that have been ploughed into the soil iykwim.

I suppose my question is, do I need to dig over this plot and get rid of all the turves or or will they get broken down in the soil with worms/frost etc and be easier to deal with in the spring?

Thank you

CL

picman

• Acre
Re: New allotment and turves
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2010, 14:55:45 »
You won't recognise it come April.... Leave the sods, ( You don't want any strong weeds showing )  frost rain and wind will do the work, just top it now with some well rotted manure (except the carrot bed). Then prepare the beds just before planting next year, Happy planning...

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2010, 15:00:41 »
Welcome, as Pic says the frosts will do the work, by the way where abouts are you.       ;)    ;D ;D ;D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2010, 19:22:31 »
Most allotment holders who have had a 'new plot' will tell you that it takes years to knock it into shape.

Plenty of manure is ideal for the whole lot. Then the first year, grow what likes it most. Spuds of course. Courgettes and marrows perhaps a few beans for example

After that you can start planning properly. Lots will grow on new land. Just get into the swing and enjoy it. 

Get on top of perennial weeds like docks the plough has chopped up. dig them out as soon as you see them, the roots can be deep.

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2010, 09:37:14 »