Author Topic: Rotorvater or Spade?  (Read 4373 times)

tabstyas

Rotorvater or Spade?
« on: September 25, 2010, 08:59:23 »
Hi. I have just aquired an allotment which is in a perfect spot with good soil. The previous owner as kept it weed free for years. He as kindly left a rotorvater which he says digs further down than a spade can.  I am new to gardening and would like to ask you pro`s if it is best to witer dig by spade or rotorvater?

lincsyokel2

• Hectare
    • Read my blog at
Re: Rotorvater or Spade?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2010, 09:35:52 »
Nothing is ever as it seems. With appropriate equations I can prove this.
Read my blog at http://www.freedebate.co.uk/blog/

SIGN THE PETITION: Punish War Remembrance crimes such as vandalising War memorials!!!   -  http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/22356

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2010, 10:48:36 »
I prefer a fork myself...  :-X

Denzle

• Not So New ...
  • Now Thats What I Call A Nice Pair
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2010, 18:36:19 »
I dig mine over with a fork first, then after the compost has sat on it for the winter I go over the plot with the rotorvator in the spring before planting.
Denzle.

zigzig

• Acre
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2010, 00:51:00 »
Rotovators are just weed choppers.

Dig first to remove weeds perennial like docks, nettles and buttercups. Then use a tiller to break down the clods.

There is no easy way out of it, it is all down to hard work.

Mr Smith

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2010, 09:54:02 »
I think there is a place for both options rough dig in winter and rotovate before the coming season, obviously if you have a lotty full of weeds with all the usual stuff what we dread having  then you will have a problem spreading the weeds about with rotovating, I'm just about on top of my problem I have had with bindweed, :)

SMP1704

• Hectare
  • Isleworth, Middlesex
    • Allotment Life