Author Topic: Corporation Tax  (Read 3504 times)

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook
Corporation Tax
« on: August 14, 2010, 17:53:35 »
I'm looking into self-management and everything to do with it and I'd assumed that an allotment management company would be liable to corporation tax, but it says on the HMRC web site not so.  Anyone know anything about CT?

See here.
An Agreement of the People for a firm and present peace upon grounds of common right

Trevor_D

• Hectare
  • north-west London
Re: Corporation Tax
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2010, 20:56:47 »
I'm not a tax expert, but as I read it you're only liable for Corporation Tax on any profit. If you're a "not for profit" organisation, then you're not.

I think your link answers your question: allotment societies aren't liable.

In an allotment society, any surplus from one year is carried over to the next for possible future expenditure. We pay no salaries, nor have no shareholders; all "stock" is held in common.

In our case, we're a limited liability company, so all members are shareholders - to the tune of £1.00 - in case we ever face bankruptcy. (It does mean that we're regulated by the FSA and have to fill in an annual return, but that's fairly straightforward.)

Contact NSALG - OK, you already have! - and the FSA.

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2010, 09:52:45 »
I'm not a tax expert, but as I read it you're only liable for Corporation Tax on any profit. If you're a "not for profit" organisation, then you're not.

I think your link answers your question: allotment societies aren't liable.

In an allotment society, any surplus from one year is carried over to the next for possible future expenditure. We pay no salaries, nor have no shareholders; all "stock" is held in common.