Author Topic: All pod and no pea  (Read 11759 times)

gertie50

• Quarter Acre
All pod and no pea
« on: July 24, 2010, 15:24:15 »
Hello All,
I'm new to gardening so I hope someone can help me.

I've grown peas (oasis) for the first time.
20 plants I gave to my Dad, who put them in his garden, me on the other hand put my 20 plants into quality compost in a raised bed. Dads crop has been bountyful, whilst mine are all pod but no pea. The pod seems to be full of gas.
Could it be that peas are best grown in garden soil rather than compost?   :-\

Many thanks, Gertie.

lincsyokel2

• Hectare
    • Read my blog at
Re: All pod and no pea
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2010, 17:52:50 »
if the compost had an abundance of mobile nitrogen then the plants will be all greenery and no crop. Peas have the ability to extract nitrogen and store it in there roots, so when they are dead dig the plants back in to get the nitrogen back.

Im not an expert on peas, but i would suspect its not a plant that likes being grown in compost, ditto most legumes.
Nothing is ever as it seems. With appropriate equations I can prove this.
Read my blog at http://www.freedebate.co.uk/blog/

SIGN THE PETITION: Punish War Remembrance crimes such as vandalising War memorials!!!   -  http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/22356

plainleaf

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2010, 19:21:58 »
lincsyokel2 you are totally wrong.
the OP's problem is pollenation issue

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2010, 19:46:08 »
I always give my legumes lots of compost.  I have to admit they sometimes do produce too much leaf but I have never had empty pods.  I wonder if something has got in and eaten the peas.

As a test I have peas growing in 100% manure and they are looking fine.

Do the leaves of the peas look normal or are some curled up or misshapen?

lincsyokel2

• Hectare
    • Read my blog at
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2010, 19:58:35 »
lincsyokel2 you are totally wrong.