Author Topic: Overwintered chillis  (Read 4138 times)

lewic

• Hectare
Overwintered chillis
« on: March 18, 2010, 19:33:10 »
I have two very productive chilli plants that I brought indoors before the frost last year. Their leaves have dried up and they look like sticks now. No sign of life at all.

Am not sure whether they are dead or just dormant, or how to tell!

Squash64

• Hectare
    • Walsall Road Allotments
Re: Overwintered chillis
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 20:00:42 »
I am by no means an expert, but have you tried cutting a stem and seeing if it is green in the middle?
Betty
Walsall Road Allotments
Birmingham

allotment website:-
www.growit.btck.co.uk

lewic

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 07:55:56 »
Stems are hollow in the middle... I guess they are dead then!!

• Hectare
  • And all that ..... in Hastings
    • Promenade Plantings
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2010, 08:56:46 »
The same happened to mine - I didtched them a couple of weeks ago. A real shame as I'd read on here about overwintering them. Oh well here's to trying again next year!!

Vinlander

• Hectare
  • North London - heavy but fertile clay
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2010, 00:37:03 »
Only 4 successes this year - one C.pubescens (Manzano), one C.baccata (Bishops Cap) - no surprise there... and two C.annuum (Black Pearl & Habanero Arbol) which are a surprise.

Incidentally the more hardy first two did better in a citrus (4C sunroom) environment than inside the house. The C.annuums did better in the house than in the sunroom.

My experience with other overwintering solanum-tribe is that live ones will be sprouting now without risk - plants that sprout earlier in the year can break the bank and die by March.

With a microholding you always get too much or bugger-all. (I'm fed up calling it an allotment garden - it just encourages the tidy-police).