Author Topic: Moving a Gunnera  (Read 10508 times)

cripery

• Not So New ...
Moving a Gunnera
« on: June 06, 2010, 21:32:39 »
Hi There,

We are moving house in the next couple of months and have the most beautiful Gunnera, I have been growing it for 5 years and it is a monster. Can anyone tell me if a) I can dig it up in the summer b) Any tips on doing so (if it is even possible).

Thanks very much :)

froglets

• Hectare
  • "Chust sublime"
Re: Moving a Gunnera
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2010, 09:52:29 »
Hi,

it's not a good time to move it, but if your really really have to, then water it well, dig around a BIG root ball and keep it moist until you can replant it, then replant in good soil and keep moist.  Idea is that most of the roots don't get any disturbance & don't know they are being moved.

best time to move it is early spring, when it's dormant.

Cheers
is it in the sale?
(South Cheshire)

raisedbedted

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2010, 10:07:34 »
Personally I would buy another one right now, put it in a large pot and let it grow over the next couple of months, take that with you, it will be easier all round and will probably take a lot better.
Best laid plans and all that

mat

• Hectare
  • Ryedale, North Yorks. Sandy loam, over sandstone
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2010, 14:27:39 »
Wear thick gloves  ;D sorry, couldn't resist that one  ::)  ;D ;D ;D

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2010, 14:34:49 »
I have moved few large ones but it is hard work..and the planting hole have to be really sodden and fertile before hand...
Could you find a 'side shoot' that you could take instead..they will grow large again very quickly and you do save yourself a lot of back ache..