Author Topic: Anyone else suffering from a drought ?  (Read 19571 times)

vegmandan

• Half Acre
    • My Allotment Diary
Anyone else suffering from a drought ?
« on: May 22, 2010, 22:34:29 »
Not something that I'd normally ask being from the Yorkshire Dales but in the last 8 weeks we've had about 5mm of rain.

My plot looks like a dust bowl and as I don't have access to mains water I'm just waiting for my onions,shallots and lettuces to bolt to seed.

Anyone else having similar problems.

Cheers.

-------------------------------------------
I will grow a 10lb Onion if it kills me !
-------------------------------------------

rosebud

• Hectare
    • allotments4all
Re: Anyone else suffering from a drought ?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 22:43:59 »
 Yes the earth is like sand, never thought i would be begging for rain here in Essex. ::)

Buckeye Girl

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2010, 23:43:12 »
Yes, this is my first year on the allotment.  Funny how your opinion on wet weather changes.

betula

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2010, 00:16:13 »
Have moved from an area of good Warwickshire clayto very free draining soil and yes as dry as dust,had the hose on my little plot twice today and misted my pots a few times too. :)

chriscross1966

• Hectare
  • Visionhairy
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2010, 00:34:10 »
IT's been dry here in Wiltshire too..... I'm trying to sort out autowatering stuff in May, don't usually think about it till Glastonbury comes along..... soon there'll be a dual system... a daily timer doing the tomatoes, peppers, aubergines and chillis in the polytunnel plus the celeriacx, plus a twice weekly timer with a moisture sensor overirde doing the garden.

chrisc

daveyboi

• Hectare
  • Have fun enjoy your allotment
    • Daveyboi's Blog and personal website
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2010, 01:37:12 »